The Anatomy of RA 7586 ~ The Philippine Mountaineering

The Anatomy of RA 7586

As mountaineer it is our intention to influence the mountaineering community to be good stewards or caretakers of the natural resources. It is unknown to majority of the climbers the fact that most of the mountains we are climbing is part of the NIPAS (National Integrated Protected Areas System Act of 1992) declaration. This post is intended to educate everyone regarding Republic Act No. 7586.

The late President Corazon C. Aquino signed NIPAS as an act in year 1992 with the aim to secure the perpetual existence of all native plants and animals through the establishment of a comprehensive system of integrated protected areas within the classification of national parks as provided in the Constitution for the present and future generations.

Through NIPAS you can identify and designate a place whether it is a terrestrial, wetland or marine, protected areas, areas that encompass outstanding remarkable areas and biologically important public lands that habitats of rare and endangered species of plants and animals, bio-geographic zones and related ecosystems. With NIPAS declaration which now using specific categories of protected areas and these are the following: (1)Strict nature reserve; (2)Natural park; (3)Natural monument; (4)Wildlife sanctuary; (5)Protected landscapes and seascapes; (6)Resource reserve; (7)Natural biotic areas; and, (8)Other categories established by law, conventions or international agreements which the Philippine Government is a signatory.

Republic Act 7586 provides the legal framework for the establishment and management of protected areas in the Philippines.  It defines protected areas as the identified portions of land and/or water set aside by reason of their unique physical and biological significance, managed to enhance biological diversity and protected against destructive human exploration. RA 7586 was implemented originally through DENR Administrative Order No. 25, Series of 1992. The said DENR Administrative Order was amended pursuant to DAO 2008-26 dated 24 December 2008.  The Administrative Order sets the procedures for the establishment, administration, management and development of the System.

The identified initial components of NIPAS cover an approximate area of 2.57 million hectares.  These areas will be maintained as part of the NIPAS until such time that they are finally assessed as to their suitability for inclusion to the System.  There are one hundred twelve (112) protected areas formally proclaimed by the President under the System covering 3.54 million hectares. Seventy (70) out of the 112 are initial components with an area of 1.97 million hectares and forty-two (42) additional areas with an area of 1.57 million hectares.  Of the 112 proclaimed protected areas, 29 are marine protected areas with a total area of 1.37 million hectares while 83 are terrestrial protected areas covering an area of 2.17 million hectares.

Under the NIPAS there were Nine (9) of the initial components and four (4) additional areas have specific laws for their establishment and most of them are included to the Ten Must Climb Mountains in the Philippine Mountaineering. The areas are Batanes Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (Region II), Northern Sierra Madre Natural Park (Region II), Mts. Banahaw-San Cristobal Protected Landscape (Region IVA), Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park Region (IVB), Mt. Kanla-on Natural Park (Region VI), Sagay Marine Reserve-(Region VI), Central Cebu Protected Landscape (Region VI)), Mimbilisan Protected Landscape (Region X),  Mt. Kitanglad Range Protected Area (Region X),  Mt. Malindang Natural Park (Region X), Mt. Apo Natural Park (Region XI), Mt. Hamiguitan Range Wildlife Sanctuary (Region XI) and Bangan Hill Natural Park (Region XI).

In terms of administration, Republic Act 7586 requires the creation of respective Protected Area Management Board (PAMB), which is a multi-sectoral and decision making body for each of the protected area established under the NIPAS. This is the reason you're using the name PASU, which means Protected Area Superintendent like for example with Ms. Emerita Albas of Mt. Pulag. As of June 2011, there are one hundred seventy-eight (178) protected areas with organized/appointed Management Boards: 97 PAs with Protected Area Management Board are proclaimed under the NIPAS (65 PAs are initial components and 32 PAs are additional areas). 

In our next post, you'll be reading some of the important impacts of NIPAS to the mountaineering community. You'll also try to identify how you can help the government to fulfill the very purpose of this act. 

Kindly bookmark and visit our website regularly, like our Facebook fan page, follow us on Twitter, add us on Google+, and/or subscribe to our news feeds via RSS or Email.

Comment With:
The Choice is Yours!


  1. thanks for this info

  2. sir/ madam, thanks for appreciating this post. we hope that you will also love our other posts.


Blog Comments
We reserve the rights to delete any comments without notice due to:
1. Profanity
2. Spamming
3. Offensive language or concepts
4. Attacking an organization or person

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...